Man Up Monday: Martin Lawrence

by

I didn’t want to do this.  I really didn’t.  I used to love Martin Lawrence, I’ve got every episode of his show memorized.  But I can’t take it anymore.

I mean he was funny as hell back then.  Ol’ Otis the security guard, Tyrone, even Shenehneh even though I’m not really down with the cross-dressing shits.  Even after that, Martin hit us with Bad Boys, Nothing to Lose (which is quietly hilarious), Life, Blue Streak (even though Dave Chappelle killed it in his small part).  Then it was over.   Big Momma’s house seems to be the turning point.

When was the last time this dude was funny?  I just saw two horrible joints back to back.  College Road Trip and Welcome Home Roscoe Jenkins.

I mean those two joints were mothafackin turrible.  I mean I was trapped on an airplane for 5 hours when they showed that damn College Road Trip and I still almost didn’t finish it.  I voluntarily watched Roscoe Jenkins, but the bad part was, everyone was funny but Martin Lawrence.  The trailer seemed funny, but it just didn’t all come together right.

Why does this always happen?  All the great comedians fall off, can’t my generation get one comedian that doesn’t go out like a complete punk?  Where’s out Richard Pryor?  Our Redd Foxx?  Our Bill Cosby?  Martin Lawrence…lost it.  Eddie Murphy…fell off.  Chris Tucker…I barely remember him being funny at all he’s so terrible now.  Dave Chappelle might be done now too, I just haven’t seen him do anything at all since he disappeared into Africa after the Chappelle’s Show debacle.  He’ll probably come back dressed like a woman too and it will be the beginning of the end of his career.  It will be his Big Momma’s Norbit, Doubtfire, Ruby Rhod moment.

So what went wrong? I’ve pinpointed it.  The leather suit.  You can’t be funny without the leather suit.  I know this sounds like barbershop logic, but hear me out.  Watch.

Funny.

Not funny.

Funny.

Not funny.

Funny.

Not funny. And from the look on his face, he knows it.

Who’s left?  Chris Rock?  Jamie Foxx?  Someone let them know to keep the closet stocked with the leather jumpsuit or their career is in serious jeopardy.  If you ask Lake, he’s already convinced that “Fur is the new Funny”.  Look, I’m down for whatever works at this point.

Martin I need to to sit down at the crib, put “You So Crazy” on repeat, break out the leather suit and get back to basics.  You were one of the best.  Now man up and get your swagger back.

Martin, Man Up!

-Brock

Tags: , , , ,

8 Responses to “Man Up Monday: Martin Lawrence”

  1. AMAROSA FLORES Says:

    DAAAAAYYYYYUUUUM GINA!!! Good logic never thought about it that way with the leather & all… however maybe I just never noticed the fall off cuz i’m too busy watchin throwback shows…. Like Martin, The Cosby Show… Sanford and Sons and so on…. FUNNNNYYY>.. Hmmmm I still have to check out That Roscoe Jenkins for myself cuz I just got back from my family reunion in Chicago today myself… but last time I tried to get it on Demand PPV my system froze up so maybe thats a sign….. PEACE

  2. Will Says:

    Yo that barbershop logic? ON POINT. Sheeeeit, we could solve the world’s problems while getting a fresh edge-up. Chris Rock seems to understand that the only way to stay truly funny is to stick to the roots no matter how famous one gets -hence his last standup show. Stya busy, stay ur butt on stage, stay rockin leather (or at least a fly suit).
    But I thought Chris Tucker’s Ruby Rhod character was funny as shit!

  3. Will Says:

    see? Chris Rock understands u, Brock.

  4. KIR in NV Says:

    I was prepared to HATE Roscoe Jenkins but I was surprised to find the joint pretty funny. Mike Epps and Mo’Nique killed it. Cedric played Cedric, which was a wash for me. However, Brock, once again you ain’t lied: Martin was especially unfunny in the flick. As a matter of fact, Martin’s and Joy Bryant’s annoying, unsympathetic characters made me want to punch them both in the face.

    Ever since Martin went crack crazy on us, he just hasn’t been able to bring the laughs. It’s too bad too because he was HIL-AR-I-OUS back in the day.

  5. SMH Says:

    Bad Boys 2 was good, but I put that on Will Smiths back.

    Heres Dave Chapelle noticing a trend, Martin should have listened http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ddA6uutzMKk

  6. G Willy Says:

    I tell you what it is…its the KIDS! Eddie already said he wasn’t making anymore “raunchy” comedies anymore because he didn’t want his kids to see him cursing and stuff. So now he makes family comedies and not funny ones. Martin…same thing. Chris Tucker….I don’t know bout no kids but pretty much the same theme. I think comedians think they can’t be funny anymore if they can’t use the f-bomb or call a cat mufu*&$ every once in awhile….
    I guess we can call Bernie Mac our generation and he’s still pretty funny.

  7. Be On It Says:

    Sorry, to totally pick on the smallest detail in this post, but Jamie Foxx is marginally funny on his best day. Now the fuck-mouth having, Usher-wanna-be self thinks he’s all that because his wack singles got a little bit of airplay and he showed his man boobs in a video. Can you really take WANDA seriously as a sex symbol? He’s already crossed the line, and he doesn’t have the juice to bring it back. Stick to being a serious actor (Ray) cuz sex symbol and action hero he is not.

  8. Big Los Says:

    Martin Lawrence & Eddie Murphy & Chris Tucker is still funny what tha hell is yall talking about they never stopped being funny especially Martin

Leave a Reply

