Man Up Monday: HBO Boxing

by

My Man Money J was getting so hyped up for the Miguel Cotto v. Antonio Margarito fight that he actually got me hype enough to order the PPV.  For Boxing.  Which I had not done in a very long time.  But looking at the history, I was ready for this one.

This picture pretty much sums up the fight.  For those of you who don’t know Cotto (on the left) comes into the fight undefeated, never been knocked out, and has blazed through some of the nastiest middleweights out there.  Zab Judah, Sugar Shane Mosely, Alfonzo Gomez.  You can’t say the dude is ducking the tough competition. 

Although Zab Judah had already taken this ass whoopin’ from Kostya Tszyu prior to the fight.

…and yes you are correct, I will use any excuse to put that clip up.  It gets better every time I watch it.

Margarito wins some, and he loses some (37-5) but comes in with that classic heart of a Mexican fighter and clearly also has a sense of humor when it comes to fashion.

I wasn’t expecting too much from this fight, but it turned into a real classic.  By the 5th round I thought it was going to be a judgment call.  Cotto was landing more precise punches, but was back-pedaling the entire fight.  Margarito was throwing 100 punches around that were getting blocked, but was moving forward like he was the damn T-1000.

By the 8th round, I still thought Cotto was getting in the better punches, but Margarito was just not getting hurt at all.  I mean I don’t know if he is like Samson and the Mullet was giving him power, but he took more punches yet looked fresher than a new pair of Jordan’s.

So the first Man Up of the day goes to Miguel Cotto for taking those bitch-ass knees during the fight.  Either go down or quit.  The mid round timeouts are not cool.  Either you are a warrior in the ring or you quit.  While it is hard for me to tell a man to risk his health in a boxing ring, but I’d rather see him take that knee and stay down than try to get up and take another knee.

I know, I know, some people just don’t like to throw in the towel.

The next Man Up goes to the announcing team at HBO.  Man up and permanently replace Larry Merchant with Max Kellerman.

Sure Kellerman seems like a complete asshole, but he knows his stuff and I am not willing to listen to anymore of Larry Merchant’s rambling bullshit.

Also, Jim Lampley.  We know you love the sport of boxing, but you are completely overselling it against MMA.  Look, you have a job to do and are the best in the game, but I don’t want to hear about how Cotto Margarito is on par with the Patriots undefeated season, Tiger’s win at the US Open, the Celtics and Red Sox Championships, and Kyle Busch winning a whole bunch of races down on Nascar BEFORE the fight starts.  I’d like my PPV without the extra helping of hyperbole…thanks.

The next thing that needs to man up is Emanuel Stewards hairline.

As a matter of fact I need his barber to man up too.  Dammit, why doesn’t Manny Steward ever have a shape up?

So to all the people at HBO Boxing…Man Up!  Except you Michael Buffer…you cool.

But you already knew that.

-Brock

Tags: , ,

3 Responses to “Man Up Monday: HBO Boxing”

  1. Slick Jefferson Says:

    Don’t make me have to bust out some more clips from Zohan. Buffer stays pimpin’.

  2. Lake Arlington Says:

    Maaayne, Cotto went down like a punk.

  3. bqc20 Says:

    I hope they have a rematch. I don’t wanna watch Margarito fight washed up, fishnet stocking wearing De La Hoya!

Leave a Reply

