Boston is the Best Sports Town Part Deux

by

Damn, one night and just so much happened in this Boston sports market that it’s hard to keep up. WEEI is going to be off the chain with phone calls tomorrow, that’s for sure. Let’s start with those C’s, I can’t lie, they started out about as shady as Tyler Perry at the church’s All Men’s Choir practice.  I mean, shit didn’t look or feel right. Then bad went to worse when Pauly P. hit the floor and clutched that knee piece. I was actually ok with that until they started muting out his words (read curses) as he writhed in pain on the floor.

Then they carried the cat away like he was about to make an unexpected stop at the local glue factory or something:

And when they carted him off in that wheelchair like a little bitch, it just took everything in me to NOT send that “game, set, season” text message I had cued up in my phone to the local peoples. Good thing I didn’t, because dude came back down the ramp looking like Willis Reed meets skip to my lou.

And he was all amped up. I mean, high fiving and heart punching… I must say, given his state just 3 minutes prior, it was pretty fucking terrible and I’m rooting for the Celtics. I can only imagine how awful it looked to the C’s haterz out there. How can you go down like someone shot you, start cursing like your career is suddenly over as you grip tight on that knee piece and literally get carted off like a beeyatch, only to come out hopping around like Peter Cotton Tail, with an extra young headband, on Easter Sunday?

Then you check into the game and play magnificently to the soundtrack of Jim Jones “We Fly High (Ballin)” en route to 22 pts and a C’s win?

I mean, what happened to the knee? Why were you laid out on the ground, crying and all? Something seems fishy… Could it all have been for show?

Then on the same night, the Red Sox turn around and make me remember why they’re my favorite team right about now (the Mets are a mess). Coco Crisp (still not sure how I feel about that name) ran into an infielder in retaliation behind a block of the plate yesterday.

Don’t ask me why, the most uninteresting thing about Baseball (and lord knows with Baseball there is plenty of ‘uninterestingness’ if you will) is this so called “unwritten code.” Look, I don’t know why he did it and I don’t care. All I know is that Coco got thrown at by the pitcher and boy, he wasn’t taking that shit lying down!

Seriously, someone cue up that “neva scared” music, because that’s exactly what happened here and I know that pitcher was scared when he swung wildly and got absolutely nothing but cool Boston air. Peep the fight. First the tight angle.

Then the whole thing.

Sheeeeit, Coco looked like he knew how to throw them thangs, too. He side stepped that punch and juuuuuust missed with a nice right hook. Haaa I love it. Coco is a hard mufucka! I mean, the cat can’t go much more than 170 lbs, right? I guess with a name like Coco, you gotta be hard.

Then Manny and Kevin Youkilis got into it, which I’m fine with.

But someone better tell Kevin Youkilis that he’s Kevin Youakilis. I don’t care what Manny said, he’s Manny and you’re not. Don’t fuck with greatness.

Meanwhile, Manny hit yet another home run and the Red Sox cruised to victory and right into 1.5 game first place lead in the AL East. Good to be in Beantown, for now. Out.

– Lake

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

6 Responses to “Boston is the Best Sports Town Part Deux”

  1. KIR in NV Says:

    Coco Crisp with his high azz forehead, my goodness. I love me a good baseball rhubarb where actual punches are thrown. Teammate v teammate is always great entertainment too: Kent v Bonds, Zambrano v Barrett…bring it on!

    Paul Pierce = former soccer player? Never underestimate the healing powers of orange slices and capri suns.

  2. Manuva Says:

    I didn’t hear Pierce crying when The Truth got stabbed 11 times to the face. And there was no standing ovation when he started 82 games after that too.

    And the dude busted two 3-pointers immediately after he came back. Calling his comeback Reed-esque doesn’t even matter, because even with the emotional rollercoaster, your MVP only busted out a 9 for 26 shooting night.

  3. KIR in NV Says:

    Zambrano v water coolers (06-07-08)…hee hee. Carlos is all kinds of crazy. Loved the hat throw hissy fit finish. Clown.

    Celts in 5.

  4. Lake Arlington Says:

    Kir, it best not be Celts in 5 because your boy is angling for some game 6 tix….

  5. KIR in NV Says:

    Lakey, for your sake, I hope the Lakers manage one win in the series but it ain’t looking too good.

  6. Will Says:

    10:20pm CST – F**k Boston! 😡

Leave a Reply

