Tropic Thunder: This Looks Hilarious

by

Robert Downey Jr. is in the movie of the year. No, not Iron Man…Tropic Thunder. Wait hear me out on this. Here’s Robert Downey Jr.

Everyone knows RDJ. But here he is in Tropic Thunder as Kirk Lazarus:

Offended by his black face performance? Sure, maybe at first, but somehow it works. Here’s the joke, Downey Jr is playing a white man who is playing a white man who is cast as a Black man in a movie. So he commits hard and stays in character no matter what. Seriously, you’ve got to watch this

That looks like it is worth seeing.

-Brock

Tags: , , , ,

8 Responses to “Tropic Thunder: This Looks Hilarious”

  1. Manuva Says:

    The Rat Pack featuring Robert Downey Jr in a modern minstrel show.

  2. Be On It Says:

    Thank you Manuva. He’s no better than Flava Flav, BET, and every black face you see on MTV.

  3. Will Says:

    RDJ is one of the best actors of our generation. I liked him since Weird Science and Less Than Zero (ooooh, he took it way back!)
    I’m there!

  4. raafman Says:

    @Manuva + Be: That shit looks hilarious to me. Although the truth is we would never see a high-budget comedy like this with a black lead, so the sting is still there. America needs Dave Chapelle now more than ever.

    On the positive side: Ethan Coen on the screenwriting triple-bill. Plus, how often do we get to see an R-rated trailer?

  5. Be On It Says:

    Raafman and Will: I know I’m being a harpie, but really, while I think it’s funny, and have the intellectual brain power to know that it’s just entertainment, not too many people who will see this movie can. This is the country that elected Dubya TWICE.

  6. America's White BOy Says:

    This movie looks pretty funny….no wonder they appeared as a trio on American Idol. I didn’t know why RDJ, Jack Black, and Ben Stiller was doing a skit as a group.

  7. KIR in NV Says:

    I’m going to reserve judgment on the flick until I see it, but I can’t lie, I’ve seen the trailer a few times and that mess made me laugh out loud. My laughter was tempered with an awkward silence though as I glanced around the theatre and peeped some folks that I didn’t want to see chuckling, not unlike my experience at Welcome Home, Roscoe Jenkins. It’s okay when it’s your boy Lake and he gets it and all, but I don’t need some of these cracker folks laughing at Us, not with Us. Be’s point is duly noted.

    It’s good to see Robert Downey, Jr. holding it down again. I don’t know about the rest of you but that guy was in my death pool for the longest.

  8. Will Says:

    OMG!! YO – Im gonna laugh my azz off in the theater!!!!

Leave a Reply

