New Hot Joints: Wale

by

I know I’m a little late to this party, but I’ve got to put cats up on this man Wale.

wale.jpg

He’s out of DC.  His style is hot, his metaphors are tight, he knows his history, he hits you with comedy, he seems to have to total package.  Raafman from the comments put me up on him, and I have to admit…at first I didn’t think I’d be down.  I listened to one track just to get a feel, then another, then another.  Before I knew it I listened to the whole damn mixtape top to bottom.

Here’s a taste of what he’s working with on W.A.L.E.D.A.N.C.E.

No hook, no pause.  The cat just straight rips it for three minutes.

I didn’t want to put up this one, but Wale gets loose on this one too.  The only unfair thing is that he is paired with “The Best Rapper Alive” Lil’ Wayne.  Check out “Nike Boots”.

So his next project is “The Mixtape About Nothing”…a Seinfeld tribute.  Bound to be hot, right?

wale-seinfeld.jpg

I think this kid is the future.  Hopefully he doesn’t fall into the “super hot lyricist” bucket where he never breaks into real success like a Lupe or a Canibus.

Don’t take my word for it.  Download his free mixtape, “100 Miles and Running” here.

-Brock

Tags: , , , ,

2 Responses to “New Hot Joints: Wale”

  1. Chris Says:

    Ima tell you like Jay-Z told ya earlier…
    He’s aight but he’s not real. Dude is just ok. Canibus would eat this dudes lunch right after Lupe served him.

  2. Royal Says:

    Wale is pretty hot off the bat, but it’s gonna take a second to see if how he will do mainstream (I mean heaven forbid we have another soulja boy joint anytime soon). 100miles and running is pretty good, Wale has a damn good delivery and the production is pretty damn good too, real different take on hip hop with the mashups of a couple dance beats. Good Lookin’ out Brock.
    …bout time to have something else to listen to.

    If you felt Wale, give The Cool Kids out of Chicago a try as well. I recommend ‘Black Mags’.
    http://www.last.fm/music/The+Cool+Kids

Leave a Reply

